Art – what is that all about anyway?

Art is a collaboration between God and the artist, and the less the artist does the better.

Andre Gide (1869 – 1951)

I am surrounded by artists and it is very disconcerting most of the time! I am not sure what it is about artists that make me feel uncomfortable with  myself – perhaps its because they bring back memories of unrecognisable attempts at drawing my mum when I was at school or some other art project which all went horribly wrong. Maybe it is deeper than that and I just can’t let myself be that free and creative to express what is inside myself.

Art, like morality, consists of drawing the line somewhere.
G. K. Chesterton (1874 – 1936)

Drawing a line somewhere…..mmmm. Well that is something I am not good at doing in any situation but often in these days here in Italy I am learning fast how to draw lines – sometimes under things and sometimes through things but it is not an easy thing to learn.

I have faced with Rose some situtaions in these times which have been especially difficult and if we had not drawn a line under them they would have developed into contaminated reationships with other s around us. The gift of grace is something which I am learning – slowly – but learning.

I suppose that this is ‘art’ in a certain sense. It is certainly somethng beuatiful to behold and to receive, of that there is no doubt. I am learning that deciding what to draw a line through is crucial to allowing me to concentrate on what I have been given to do here by the Lord.

The artists who are with us have been an inspiration in many ways and I thank God for them. They have brought a spurt of new energy to me and maybe even shed some light on how I understand what the Lord has for me here in Italy in this period.

Leave a Reply

